GoCougar Forums - The Hunting Ground for Cougars Seeking Cubs  Return to goCougar Main Site

Go Back   GoCougar Forums - The Hunting Ground for Cougars Seeking Cubs > The Hunting Ground > Relationships

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 10:35 AM
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 66
sweetprince is on a distinguished road
Default

sealion: thanks for reminding - if he uses an anonymity software/open relay servers, his IP can be faked. But... but most of emails i got weren't sent this way, so they were 'traceable'

damsel: 1. there are 'redirecting services' in UK/US, you can even have a business office there without even being there Maybe his English was so good because there were Brits there at the beginning of 20th century . Yes, i.e. many American companies moved their call centres to India (ok, it's not Africa but a good example) because people speak there English with proper accent ( I have seen a movie about it (John and jane form Mumbai - or similar title, sorry I can't recollect). Sorry that you are leaving this site (we will be missing you), but it's understandable and your 'I trust nobody' is understandable too. Anyway, good luck (and a Happy New Year)!

OK, as for IP - a small example:

It doesn't matter if it is Windows, Mac and which version (Vista, Windows 7, etc.).

The only thing that matters is that you have to see full email. So I can't figure out what are i.e. your IP becuase GoCougar doesn't show full info.
The easiest way is to open an account at Gmail (google mail), and ask a guy to send a message there. When you log into you Gmail account, open on the email you got from him, and there is usually info from whom it was send, and to whom. A line under "To:" there are following options:
Reply, Reply to all, Forward, Print, Delete, Show original. Click on Show original. and you will see sth like:
-----------------------------------------------------
Delivered-To: my_secret_email@gmail.com
Received: by 10.216.163.2 with SMTP id z2cs57350wek;
Sun, 27 Dec 2009 00:07:37 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.223.14.13 with SMTP id e13mr9307207faa.85.1261901257136;
Sun, 27 Dec 2009 00:07:37 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <elektroda@elektroda.pl>
Received: from poczta.elektroda.pl (elektroda.pl - elektronika, schematy, forum, naprawa, usterki, porady, diy [80.72.46.162])
by mx.google.com with SMTP id f31si15655509fkf.12.2009.12.27.00.07.36;
Sun, 27 Dec 2009 00:07:37 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of elektroda@elektroda.pl designates 80.72.46.162 as permitted sender) client-ip=80.72.46.162;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of elektroda@elektroda.pl designates 80.72.46.162 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=elektroda@elektroda.pl
Received: (qmail 87646 invoked by uid 80); 27 Dec 2009 09:07:36 +0100
To: my_secret_email@gmail.com
Subject: Witamy na Forum elektroda.pl
X-PHP-Script: elektroda.pl - forum elektroniczne, naprawy, porady serwisowe, usterki sprz?tu, serwis naprawa for 77.114.168.214
Reply-to: elektroda@elektroda.pl
From: elektroda@elektroda.pl
Message-ID: <5e90f0e001da812e40bdedb66571b04c@www.elektroda.pl >
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; ch****t=iso-8859-2
Content-transfer-encoding: 8bit
Date: Sun, 27 Dec 2009 09:07:36 +0100
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: PHP
X-MimeOLE: Produced By phpBB2


Witamy
-------------------------------------------


As you can see, there is no X-Origin-From or similar. Well, so look at the last Received: with IP address. In email above these lines:

Received: from poczta.elektroda.pl (elektroda.pl - elektronika, schematy, forum, naprawa, usterki, porady, diy [80.72.46.162])
by mx.google.com with SMTP id f31si15655509fkf.12.2009.12.27.00.07.36;
Sun, 27 Dec 2009 00:07:37 -0800 (PST)

So I know this mail was sent from 80.72.46.162 and I can check with remote.12dt.com/rns that this is:

Results
80.72.46.162 resolves to
"www.elektroda.pl"
Top Level Domain: "elektroda.pl"
Country IP Address: POLAND

Sw

Last edited by sweetprince; 01-01-2010 at 11:05 AM. Reason: a simple IP example added
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 04:43 PM
lynda's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
lynda is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Sweetprince, you are a mulitude of information. This is the kind of stuff we all need to know.

Damsel: I am sorry you are leaving also but I understand totally why. It is amazing how much we want to trust and believe then one scumbag can come along and destroy that for you and any men that are actually good guys to have the opportunity to know you. You need to heal and have time for yourself. Many blessings.....
__________________
lynsue
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 11:02 PM
Junior member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
damsel is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks, Lynda
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 11:22 PM
lunamor's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,602
lunamor is on a distinguished road
Default

Damsel, it's understandable how you feel, but don't throw the baby out with the bath water! You got burned but you learned from it, now you're better prepared than you were before, no? For example, you can still contact (and be contacted by) guys, just approach it a bit differently. For example:

- resist melting at a flow of sweet words (and btw, if someone's coming on really strong from the very start, that's already a bit suspect);

- consider limiting your focus to people who can meet you with relatively small difficulty or distance;

- don't let the romance drag on too long or get too intense before actually meeting;

- take everything people say with a grain of salt

I'm sure others could add more, these are the first things that came to my mind - which is now tired, it's bedtime Goodnight!
__________________
You can only be young once, but you can be immature forever!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 04:26 AM
lynda's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
lynda is on a distinguished road
Cool Oh yeah!!

Luna, you make such good points! I am so glad you are on our side hahaha.
__________________
lynsue
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 04:47 AM
lunamor's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,602
lunamor is on a distinguished road
Default

Ha! Thanks lynda - these points are from personal experience, because I *didn't* always follow them, and learned the hard way myself!
__________________
You can only be young once, but you can be immature forever!

Last edited by lunamor; 01-02-2010 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 06:24 PM
lonelykid's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Streets of Amritsar
Posts: 23
lonelykid is on a distinguished road
Default

my butt is stamped "Made in India"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:39 PM
Junior member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,991
wetnwild is on a distinguished road
Default

Haha lonelykid! I guess that is one form of "proof"!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:54 PM
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
angeldevil is on a distinguished road
Default Another Scammer

I had a scammer who said he was in Nigeria and that he loved me and wanted to come see, but when he went to the airport, lo and behold, the ticket prices had gone up and he needed $800.00. His user name on here is Mcanthony, and he says his name is Gabriel Mcanthony Roland. Another one to watch out for.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:17 PM
lynda's Avatar
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
lynda is on a distinguished road
Default

Ladies, Angeldevil is right, he is on the scam site with the exact same thing that is in his profile and his pic is actually an actor named Gabriel Macht. He got the first name right hahaha. Angeldevil would you please post this in the blog so more ladies can read it cause not all of them come to the forum. You need to report him to admin so his profile is deleted. Thank you for telling us about him with way we can help take care of each other.
__________________
lynsue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
scammer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5 Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO